Singer Finn Andrews and bass player Sophia Burn first met when they were 12 years old at high school in New Zealand.  Along with Henning Dietz (drums), Dan Raishbrook (guitar) and Uberto Rapisardi (keys)  The Veils have released three records on Rough Trade Records: The Runaway Found (2004), Nux Vomica (2006), and Sun Gangs (2009). The Troubles of the Brain EP (2011) and Time Stays, We Go (2014) followed later on the band's own label Pitch Beast Records. Before 2016, and the release of Total Depravity.

Since the band premiered Axolotl, the first track from the album, with Pitchfork back in June, anticipation has built steadily for the record co-produced by El-P (Run The Jewels) and Atom Greenspan, and since its release Total Depravity has received unanimous and glorious praise worldwide.

Their latest single Low Lays The Devil was premiered by both NME and Zane Lowe’s Beats1 show, and was championed by Steve Lamacq heading straight on to the prestigious BBC 6 Music’s Playlist.

Lurid, intense & poetic … Total Depravity is a stunning, utterly individual listen.” - CLASH

Like savage collisions of Bowie, Nick Cave and Nine Inch Nails" - UNCUT  

The Veils most complete and satisfying work to date” - RECORD COLLECTOR

Total Depravity offers an incredibly cohesive yet twisted and decaying ride through the dusty aberrant Bible belt of Americana” - NZ HERALD